AWCF Grading System Guidelines

The AWCF has been developing its own grading system, which member schools and practitioners are welcome to participate in (however it is not mandatory).

Level 1

An AWCF Level 1 is a rough equivalent to a black belt in other martial arts. It represents a transition from a beginner to a practicing exponent in terms of understanding and applied skill. It doesn’t represent a level of fitness or amount of time spent. It is common that a new Level will take no less than 3 years, and more often 5-7 years to achieve. This varies, and depends on the understanding and applicable skill achieved by the student, not fitness nor time spent.

An AWCF Level 1 grade indicates that a student has attained a significant level of understanding of the Siu Nim Tau form and can apply it fluently.

An AWCF Level 1 grade indicates that the student is capable of being more autonomous in their own training and have developed an understanding of the nature of the art and their journey ahead.

Beyond Level 1

Each Level above Level 1 reflects one of the six forms of Wing Chun.

Level 1: Siu Nim Tau (Little Idea)

Level 2: Chum Kiu (Detecting the Bridge)

Level 3: Biu Jee (Darting Fingers)

Level 4: Mook Yan Jong (The Dummy)

Level 5: Bart Jarm Do (Eight Cutting Knives)

Level 6: Lok Dim Boon Gwan (Long Pole)

Each form is dependent on having achieved the fundamental features of the previous forms, and is expected to take a similar commitment to achieve. Further Levels from 7-10 can be used to distinguish mastery of the entire system, however in practice  such individuals are among the most senior and are beyond grading in any practical sense.

How to be graded

To be eligible to recognised at a any given level, a practitioner must have satisfied their own school’s requirements for that grade. The school/instructor should then approach the AWCF committee to support an examination. The examination itself consists of a written exam and a physical exam, usually carried out by committee of senior community members. Written exams, provided by the committee, will be critiqued by nominated community members and often involve questions and amendments. Typically, the physical examinations are carried out at the annual conference or during visits to or from senior community members.

Member schools are free to implement their own beginner grading system below Level 1. This is often achieved with a 0-3 tiered ‘beginner grade’ system as seen in our guidelines or coloured sashes.

The AWCF has provided the following guidelines to impart an understanding of the requirements of for each grade, and their relationship to the forms. Please feel free to contact us with any questions regarding the grading system.

Please review this document for more detailed information:

AWCF Grading System Guidelines

Australian Wing chun Federation 2019

Up ↑